Start Lists: 2019 Virginia’s Blue Ridge GO Cross p/b Deschutes Brewery – Cyclocross Magazine

The calendar might still say “August,” but UCI cyclocross is here this weekend at the 2019 Virginia’s Blue Ridge GO Cross p/b Deschutes Brewery in Roanoke, Virginia. First held last year, this year marks the second year of opening up the North American UCI calendar for the race.

The two days of racing will take place at Roanoke’s Fallon Park, and the course will take advantage of the permanent cyclocross located there. For more background on the venue and how the race came to be, you can check out our interview with Wes Best of the East Coasters Bike Shop from last year.

GO Cross returns for Year 2 in 2019. 2018 GO Cross Day 2. © Bruce Buckley

GO Cross returns for Year 2 in 2019. 2018 GO Cross Day 2. © Bruce Buckley

Start lists for the Elite races are below [via]. There are a couple of noteworthy inclusions and exclusions worth noting.

Elite Women

Fifteen-time U.S. National Champion Katie Compton (KFC Racing p/b Trek Knight) had planned on racing at GO Cross, but she suffered a broken elbow in a crit crash earlier this month.

Compton told Cyclocross Magazine her broken bone is still healing, and she expects to return to off-road riding in mid-September. She is targeting the Jingle Cross and Waterloo World Cups for a return.

After Van Dessel dropped its sponsorship of a women’s team, Sunny Gilbert and Caroline Mani return as teammates with their new Pactimo Women’s CX-Gravel Project. The duo will be unveiling their new colorful kits and program on Saturday.

Joining the field will be a familiar face in Allison Arensman (J.A. King p/b Blue Ridge Cross). Arensman returns to racing professional cyclocross after taking the 2018 season off to focus on running the J.A. King p/b BRC development program.

Full Elite Women start lists are below.

Elite Men

One of the biggest names on the Elite Men’s start list is that of Curtis White (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld). The defending Pan-Ams Champion and U.S. Nationals silver medalist kicks his season off in Roanoke ahead of the throwdown expected next weekend in Rochester.

The Men’s start list has a strong regional flavor, with Kerry Werner (Kona Maxxis Shimano), Eric Thompson (The Endurance Collective), Travis Livermon, Lucas Livermon, The Beard Robert Marion and defending Masters 35-39 National Champion Greg Wittwer (Sweet Spot Cycling wrapped in VIE_13) among those registered to make the start.

Kerry Werner is looking to repeat his GO Cross success in 2019. 2018 Go Cross, Day 1, UCI C2 Cyclocross. photo: Bruce Buckley

Kerry Werner is looking to repeat his GO Cross success in 2019. 2018 Go Cross, Day 1, UCI C2 Cyclocross. photo: Bruce Buckley

Full Elite Men start lists are below.

Elite Women Start List: 2019 GO Cross

First Last Home State/Province/Country Team
Hannah Arensman Brevard NC J.A. King p/b Blue Ridge Cross
Allison Arensman Brevard NC JA King Cyclocross
Madeline Arpin Roanoke VA Borah Teamwear
Caitlin Bernstein Reno NV Velocio/ Easton/ MCGOVERN Cycles
Skylar Bovine Gibsonville NC CXHAIRS DEVO : TREK BIKES
Alexandra CampbellForte Frederick MD Vanderkitten-Entourage Racing
Corey Coogan Cisek Minneapolis MN Triple C Racing
Kathryn Cumming Bloomfield NJ Jalapeno Cycling
Rebecca Fahringer Concord NH Kona Maxxis Shimano
Sunny Gilbert Ellisville MO Pactimo Women’s CX-Gravel Project
Erin Gordon Narberth PA Rare Disease Cycling / Keswick
Christina Hosenfeld Washington DC Bluemont Connection
Julie Hunter Philadelphia PA Mapleworks Coaching
Traci Judge Oakdale PA  
Taylor Kuyk-White Philadelphia PA Richard Sachs Cyclocross
Caroline Mani Colorado Springs CO Pactimo Women’s CX-Gravel Project
Philicia Marion Mount Airy NC  
Britt Mason Ellicott City MD Shadow Elite
Rhys May Easthampton MA Rhys May Jewelry
Anna Megale BOISE ID Trek CXC
Caroline Nolan Reno NV Voler / Easton/ HRS/ Rock Lobster
Raylyn Nuss Lake Saint Louis MO  
Emily Payonk Fort Wayne IN Team NeighborLink
Natalie Redmond Kesington Park AUS Drops
Tori Riemersma Washington DC Shadow Elite
Jane Rossi Newburyport MA JAM / NCC
Rachel Rubino Philadelphia PA  
Melissa Seek Norfolk VA SEAVS/Haymarket
Elizabeth Sheldon Washington DC CXHAIRS DEVO : TREK BIKES
Karen Talley Roanoke VA SEAVS/Haymarket
Chelsea Weidinger San Francisco CA  
Emily Werner Advance NC Amy D. Foundation
Carla Williams Roanoke VA Deschutes Brewery
Erica Zaveta Brevard NC The Pony Shop p/b KPMG

Elite Men Start List: 2019 GO Cross

First Last Home State/Province/Country  
Jonathan Anderson Topsfield MA J moneys factory elite professional u65 development
Andreas Lund Andresen Taastrup DNK Team Giant-ASSOS CX
Trent Blackburn Easthampton MA JAM / NCC
Thomas Borner McDonald PA La Prima Espresso Co. Racing
Matthew Clements Roanoke VA Deshutes CX Team
Tim Coffey Cadillac MI Brevard College
Patrick Collins Shrewsbury MA kb PHOTO cx / A-D Bikes
Frank Deal Salem VA Deschutes Brewery
Andrew Dietz Greensboro NC Trek Cyclocross Collective
Alec Donahue Easthampton MA JAM / NCC
Kevin Ellsworth Cresaptown MD MD Dig Deep Racing
Liam Flanagan Black Mountain NC Lees-McRae College
Ben Frederick Northampton MA ORNOT
Shawn Geiger burgettstown PA  
Andrew Giniat Asheville NC The Pony Shop p/b KPMG
David Gunnerson Elkridge MD Otterhaus/K&F Construction
michael larson bloomington IN  
Lucas Livermon Durham NC  
Travis Livermon Efland NC  
Rhys Louis Hinsdale IL  
Andreas Lund Andresen Taastrup Team Giant-ASSOS CX
Simon Lynn USAF Academy CO US Military Endurance Sports
Lane Maher Harwinton CT Cannon dale p/b Cyclocrossworld
Robert Marion Mount Airy NC  
Ian Megale Boise ID Team UpCycle p/b St. Alphonsus Medical Center
Chris Niesen Easthampton MA JAM / NCC
Jared Nieters Haymarket VA SEAVS/Haymarket
Bradford Perley brevard NC Brevard College
Gorgi Popstefanov Washington DC Cycles 54/Thrive Spine & Sport
Christopher Rabadi Rockville MD Team Handmade p/b Harlow School for Dogs
Byron Rice Durham NC Storm Racing Team
Alex Ryan Lewisville NC Team Dash
William Seitz Bham AL Mission Devo Cycling p/b Tyler Perry Studios
Walker Shaw Pisgah Forest NC  
Eric Thompson Asheville NC The Endurance Collective
Kale Wenczel Leverett MA JAM / NCC
Kerry Werner Jr. birdsboro PA Kona Maxxis Shimano
Curtis White Delanson NY Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld
Greg Wittwer richmond VA Sweet Spot Cycling wrapped in VIE_13
Andrew Wulfkuhle Lancaster PA Voler/Easton/HRS/Rock Lobster p/b Joseph Kochlacs Wood …