Mini-Reports: 2019 Lenzerheide World Cup Short Track Races – Cyclocross Magazine

Last Sunday, PFP (Canyon Factory Downhill Team) and MvdP (Corendon – Circus) were the MVPs of the Val di Sole XCO race. Today at the Lenzerheide Short Track race, it was déjà vu all over again.

Lenzerheide was the site of Kate Courtney’s (Scott – SRAM MTB Team) World Championship last September, so the young rider currently second in the World Cup standings was looking to recapture some of that magic in Switzerland this weekend.

Meanwhile a rivalry between Ferrand-Prevot and Jolanda Neff (Trek Factory Racing XC) is brewing, and Van der Poel was seeking to stay perfect in this two-race block of the XCO World Cup.

Elite Women

The Women’s race had its fair share of intrigue in the closing laps. After a fast start from Neff, a group of seven riders massed at the front of the fast, open course.

On the front in the closing meters of the penultimate lap, Elisabeth Brandau (EF Racing) attacked and sprinted to the line on the paved finishing stretch. After raising her hand and stopping her computer, Brandau collapsed to the ground, only to realize that she had attacked with one to go. It was an updated take on pulling a Toupalik.

Elisabeth Brandau celebrates, but she still had a lap to go. photo:

Elisabeth Brandau celebrates, but she still had a lap to go. photo:

Back in the race, Ferrand-Prevot led the charge up the first incline, reducing the group to her, Neff, Jenny Rissveds (Team 31) and Anne Tauber CST Sandd Bafang MTB Racing Team) while opening a gap on Chloe Woodruff (Stan’s – Pivot Pro Team) and others.

Ferrand-Prevot battled Neff up the last climb and took the lead position right at the top to lead into a long descent. Ferrand-Prevot dropped off the flyover onto the paved finishing straight in first and for the second straight race, held off Neff in a sprint.

Neff finished a close second and Rissveds third.

Woodruff had another solid result in 5th, Kate Courtney (Scott – SRAM MTB Team) finished 9th, Catharine Pendrel (Clif Pro Team) 19th, Eva Lechner 20th and Brandau 21st.

Full results are below.

Elite Men

Last Friday, Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon – Circus) buried Henrique Avancini (Cannondale Factory Racing) with a last-lap attack up the Val di Sole Short Track climb. Today, he looked to stay perfect in the Short Track races he has entered this season.

On a wide, open course that was so wide, it probably could not be compared to a cyclocross track, the front of the Men’s field bunched up throughout the first half of the 10-lap race.

Avancini broke the group up in Lap 6 with an attack up the climb. Only Van der Poel and Nino Schurter (Scott -SRAM MTB Team) were able to follow. Maxime Marotte (Cannondale Factory Racing) then bridged up to make it a group of four with two to go.

Today, Van der Poel decided to get the attack party started early, charging up the climb in the penultimate lap. Schurter followed for a bit, but Van der Poel crested the hill with a small gap on the other riders. Things came back together after the descent, and Bibs 1 (Schurter), 2 (Van der Poel) and 3 (Avancini) crossed the line together at the bell.

After getting detonated in the bell lap a week ago, Avancini attacked as soon as the track pitched up. He kept his attack going up the longest part of the climb, and this time, Van der Poel had to respond. The Dutchman caught up and took the lead at the top, but Avancini was right with him.

It was on the descent that Van der Poel got his gap. He cleared the descent with a few bike lengths on Avancini and was able to sit up and coast across the line after one last effort to take the Short Track win again.

Avancini took second and Schurter third.

Peter Disera (Norco Factory Team) took 24th.

Full results are below. Replays of both races are available online.

The XCO races are on Sunday, and as always, they will be on

Elite Women Results: 2019 Lenzerheide World Cup Short Track

Rank BIB Last Name First Name Country Result
1 4 FERRAND PREVOT Pauline FRA 0:21:38
2 1 NEFF Jolanda SUI 0:21:38
3 28 RISSVEDS Jenny SWE 0:21:39
4 5 TAUBER Anne NED 0:21:40
5 12 WOODRUFF Chloe USA 0:21:47
6 7 MCCONNELL Rebecca AUS 0:21:48
7 3 TERPSTRA Anne NED 0:21:49
8 24 KELLER Alessandra SUI 0:21:50
9 2 COURTNEY Kate USA 0:22:04
10 14 DAVISON Lea USA 0:22:06
11 17 ?ÁBELICKÁ Jitka CZE 0:22:09
12 21 LILL Candice RSA 0:22:10
13 16 LANGVAD Annika DEN 0:22:13
14 6 FREI Sina SUI 0:22:14
15 23 BATTY Emily CAN 0:22:14
16 19 LAST Annie GBR 0:22:16
17 18 ŽAKELJ Tanja SLO 0:22:17
18 29 TEOCCHI Chiara ITA 0:22:27
19 10 PENDREL Catharine CAN 0:22:27
20 11 LECHNER Eva ITA 0:22:33
21 8 BRANDAU Elisabeth GER 0:22:37
22 37 WALTER Sandra CAN 0:22:44
23 13 INDERGAND Linda SUI 0:22:49
24 38 BRESSET Julie FRA 0:22:58
25 26 STIRNEMANN Kathrin SUI 0:23:03
26 33 GORYCKA Paula POL 0:23:15
27 15 MICHIELS Githa BEL 0:23:19
28 39 KOOPMANS Lotte NED 0:23:31
29 25 GARCIA MARTINEZ Rocio Del Alba ESP 0:23:32
30 36 KALENTYEVA Irina RUS 0:23:32
32 27 PODGORSKA Aleksandra POL LAP
34 35 MORATH Adelheid GER LAP
35 40 ENAUX Sabrina FRA LAP
36 34 OSL Elisabeth AUT LAP
37 9 SMITH Haley CAN LAP
38 20 STRAUSS Mariske RSA LAP

Elite Men Results: 2019 Lenzerheide World Cup Short Track

Rank BIB Last Name First Name Country Result
1 2 VAN DER POEL Mathieu NED 0:20:07
2 3 AVANCINI Henrique BRA 0:20:08
3 1 SCHURTER Nino SUI 0:20:12
4 7 MAROTTE Maxime FRA 0:20:15
5 17 BRAIDOT Luca ITA 0:20:16
6 28 FUMIC Manuel GER 0:20:17
7 14 KORETZKY Victor FRA 0:20:21
8 10 CAROD Titouan FRA 0:20:22
9 5 SARROU Jordan FRA 0:20:23
10 4 FLUECKIGER Mathias SUI 0:20:33
11 37 HÆGSTAD Erik NOR 0:20:36
12 30 COLLEDANI Nadir ITA 0:20:37
13 23 STIRNEMANN Matthias SUI 0:20:39
14 11 TEMPIER Stephane FRA 0:20:41
15 6 KERSCHBAUMER Gerhard ITA 0:20:42
16 24 EGGER Georg GER 0:20:43
17 34 BOUCHARD Leandre CAN 0:20:43
18 25 ŠKARNITZL Jan CZE 0:20:44
19 21 BRAIDOT Daniele ITA 0:20:46
20 9 SCHUERMANS Jens BEL 0:20:49
21 31 FORSTER Lars SUI 0:20:50
22 38 COLOMA NICOLAS Carlos ESP 0:20:50
23 20 SINTSOV Anton RUS 0:20:51
24 16 DISERA Peter CAN 0:20:58
25 29 FINI CARSTENSEN Sebastian DEN 0:21:08
26 12 COOPER Anton NZL 0:21:10
27 27 GOTARDELO MULLER Guilherme BRA 0:21:14
28 22 WAWAK Bartlomiej POL 0:21:17
29 13 INDERGAND Reto SUI 0:21:22
30 32 PARTI András HUN LAP
31 8 CINK Ond?ej CZE LAP
33 26 RAGGL Gregor AUT LAP
37 18 MARKT Karl AUT LAP
DNF 19 VOGEL Florian SUI
DNF 33 COCUZZI Luiz Henrique BRA
DNS 35 GAGNE Raphael CAN