Track Cycling

Dutch legend Wild wins women’s elimination race at European Track Cycling Champs –

Home favourite Kirsten Wild won the women’s elimination race on day two of the European Track Cycling Championships in Dutch city Apeldoorn ©Getty Images

Home favourite Kirsten Wild won the women’s elimination race on day two of the European Track Cycling Championships in Dutch city Apeldoorn.

The six-time world champion finished ahead of Great Britain’s Emily Nelson and Poland’s Nikol Płosaj at Omnisport Apeldoorn.

It is the third time Wild, 37, has tasted victory in the event on the European stage, having also done so in 2016 and 2017.

Nelson’s silver was her second medal of the Championships, following her women’s scratch race triumph yesterday.

“The race was fast right from the gun,” the Briton was reported as saying by BBC Sport.

“Everyone was fighting for positions and riding into gaps that weren’t there, making it very technical, so you couldn’t switch off for a second.

“I’m super happy with my second medal of the championships – a bit gutted to have been so close to bringing home two jerseys but to lose to someone as decorated as Kirsten isn’t too bad.”

Today’s action also saw Spain’s Sebastián Mora Vedri claim the men’s scratch title following a devastating late attack.

Greece’s Christos Volikakis finished second and The Netherlands’ Wim Stroetinga came third.

In the men’s team pursuit event, Denmark’s Lasse Norman Hansen, Julius Johansen, Frederik Madsen and Rasmus Pedersen beat Italy’s Michele Scartezzini, Filippo Ganna, Francesco Lamon and Davide Plebani to the gold medal.

The Danish quartet clocked a time of 3min 49.113sec to win by a margin of 5.004 seconds.

The bronze medal went to Britain’s Edward Clancy, Ethan Hayter, Charlie Tanfield and Oliver Wood after they held off Switzerland’s Stefan Bissegger, Claudio Imhof, Valere Thiebaud and Cyrille Thièry.

A time of 3:51.428 proved to be good enough for the British, with the Swiss foursome posting 3:54.278.

The women’s team pursuit event went the way of Britain’s Katie Archibald, Eleanor Dickinson, Neah Evans and Laura Kenny in 4:13.828, with Germany’s Franziska Brausse, Lisa Brennauer, Lisa Klein and Gudrun Stock second in 4:16.789.

Victory secured a 13th European Track Cycling Championships gold medal for Kenny, a four-time Olympic champion.

Italy’s Elisa Balsamo, Martina Alzini, Vittoria Guazzini and Letizia Paternoster were the bronze medallists ahead of France’s Valentine Fortin, Clara Copponi, Coralie Demay and Marie Le Net.

The Italians finished 4.508 seconds clear of their opponents with a time of 4:17.610.

Action in Apeldoorn is due to continue tomorrow.